God is Good…All the Time.

I’ve always loved that old Southern Baptist line.

It seems to have infiltrated the Apostolic and Pentecostal circles. When I moved up here from California, I used to say “God is Good” and people would just look at me and say “Why yes, yes He is!” Until one day I’d said it and someone responded with “All the time” and I was shocked!

It seems to have spread and I’m glad because it’s truth.

I love the Bible. You can read something 100 times and then suddenly the 101st time you saw something you’d never seen before.

So last night I was eating by myself at a restaurant, enjoying my chips and salsa (YUM!) and was reading in Exodus. I was shuffling pages to find my place again and stopped on Exodus 2, detailing the birth of Moses. Jochebed had given birth and did her best to hide her child for as long as possible. Babies get to a certain age and they just cannot be silenced so I imagine he started getting loud, cooing and crying and the like…and teething too. I sat and wondered WHY she chose to make that papyrus basket. Was it a desperate move made by a mother to give her hope that her son would live? Was it a dream? Was a messenger from the Lord sent to instruct her? Or was it just something that was laid on her heart? Hmm…

So she makes a basket and sets the child she just carried for 9 months and loved on for another 3 in a basket. My heart breaks for her. I can’t imagine having to let go of a child. I can’t imagine letting go of a child to be killed either. My children are so precious to me. The sparkles in their eyes, watching their personalities develop. My little girl loves to be the center of attention. She likes to dance and perform, but she’s also a snuggler, loves her blankies and her mama and her thumb. She’s got a beautiful smile and a VERY loving heart. My son used to raise his hand to hit me. A child only does what he’s witnessed (John 5:19). But his transformation has been so beautiful. He used to lie, hide, destroy and be sneaky and now he snuggles my arm and tells me “Oh, your skin is so soft! I just wanna snuggle you!” His heart has become so loving and adventurous. I see him trying to hit a ball with a stick and running and jumping and figuring things out. He loves ALLLL his blankets and tells me many times per day how beautiful I am and how much he loves me. He’s the only one who has ever called me beautiful unsolicited. He has this drive, this energy that I continually pray God will harness for His kingdom.

Putting them in a basket and walking away…makes my mothers heart ache. Was it so he would die and she didn’t have to be nearby? So she didn’t have to watch her child die?

BUT GOD!!

Jochebed most likely kneeled over the basket with her 3 month old child in it crying and pouring her heart out in tears over her swaddled baby as she set him down in the water and walked away to grieve. But Miriam…she needed closure. And as she stood there, she witnessed a miracle. That princess redeemed Moses from the water. He was set to die! Just like US! And she redeemed him, named him and adopted him into her family.

Sounds familiar right?  (Ephesians 1:5)

God reached down from heaven and gave Pharaoh’s daughter compassion for that child that would otherwise die. And Miriam…standing there…imagine the look on her face and the boldness she had to muster to speak to a princess, to take a chance for her mothers sake. What LOVE!

“Shall I go and get one of the Hebrew women to nurse the baby for you?” She knew which one to go get. What brings tears to my eyes (dangit! I wore mascara and eyeliner today!!) is the fact that Miriam got to run to her mother and deliver the good news.

That her child had been redeemed from death, and she was being given the opportunity to raise her son AND get paid to do it. Something she would have done willingly because of Love, the Lord gave it back to her and MORE.

God answers our prayers. He gives us more than we could ever hope or imagine. He turns hopeless into hopeful, he turns sorrow into joy! That THING that we are going through or have been through that has just broken our hearts and he is healing or healed, left us confused or perplexed, if we set it down and give it to Him, he turns it into the most beautiful of blessings.

Ephesians 3:20

20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.21 Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

God never forgets a promise. If he promised it to you, showed you in a vision or dream, told you in whispers deep in your heart, he will bring it about. It is His work, leave it in His hands and He will complete everything He set out to do. Trust that He will take care of you and it will be far greater than you could have ever asked for or imagined.

 

As a side note, God often speaks to me as I write these…He just did as I wrote that last sentence above. In a dream I had back in 2010, I recorded what I call my “Wedding Dress Dream”…yeah I name them…Any way, in this dream I walked away from my original wedding dress across a coliseum towards one that was “far greater and more beautiful” than the one I left behind…Ephesians 3:20…He was telling me then what is meant for now. Six years ago God told me what he would do in my life. And you know what?

He’s doing it.

 

Blessings,

Amanda

Tell me your thoughts

